Web design

Cache memory

When you see a website page, your browser keeps a version of that page and it is stored locally in your computer in the so called “Cache Memory”.

Then when you connection is slow or the Internet is busy and you request that page again, if it takes a long time to download, the browser takes the previous version stored in the “Cache Memory”.

To load the new real live version, you have to reload/refresh the page in the browser (or press F5 key) and alternatively clear the cache memory.

Each browser clears the Cache Memory differently.

To clear the Google Chrome cache memory:

From the Menu Button button in the upper-right corner of the Chrome window, choose “More Tools” > “Clear browsing data…“

  1. Select “Obliterate the following items from” drop down menu: “the beginning of time”
  2. Tick only in “Cached images and files”
  3. Select the “Clear browsing data” button, and Chrome will clear your cache

Then reload again the page you want to visit in your browser.

More info here: http://www.technipages.com/google-chrome-clear-cache

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *